Ask the Doctor: Smoking Cannabis in Florida

QUESTION: Smokable cannabis is now legal in the state of Florida. What do I need to know about the program?

Answer

Lorem ipsum dolor sit amet, consectetur On March 18, 2019, SB182 was signed by Gov. Ron DeSantis, over two years after Amendment Two was approved by voters. This allows medical cannabis patients to consume marijuana by smoking it and was a historic win for all of us. So now that smokable cannabis is allowed, there are a few things you should know.elit. Ut elit tellus, luctus nec ullamcorper mattis, pulvinar dapibus leo.

What forms of smokable flower are allowed?

Whole cannabis flower is allowed in prepackaged form and pre­rolls (joints). All flower will be packaged in opaque white plastic containers and will only show the dispensary logo and warning label. By law, flower must be kept in this container at all times.

Can patients under 18 access medical cannabis?

Yes, but patients under the age of 18 may only have smokable cannabis if they are terminally ill and receive a secondary recommendation from another doctor who specializes in pediatric medicine.

How do I get access to smokable flower? How much does it cost?

Current patients will need to contact their recommending doctor to find out if they qualify for smokable cannabis. The doctor will then update the patient’s Office of Medical Marijuana Use Registry profile to include smokable cannabis. Next, the doctor will file documentation regarding other routes of administration that were tried, for how long, their effectiveness, and how smokable cannabis could benefit the patient. You will also need to sign an updated consent form (in person) about the risks of smoking.

The cost of adding smokable cannabis to your registry profile may vary by doctor because of the vast amount of paperwork that accompanies it. Typically doctors have been charging around $25 for this service. If it is substantially more, you may want to consider changing doctors when you are up for renewal.

How much cannabis flower can I purchase and possess at any given time?

If you have smokable cannabis on your recommendation, you will be allowed to be dispensed up to 2.5 ounces every 35 days, and may possess four ounces at any given time.

What types of delivery devices are available?

You may use any smoking device you wish and they do not have to be purchased at an MMTC.

Can I smoke in public?

No! A patient may smoke, vape, or use medical cannabis on private property as allowed by the property owner. The law provides that it does not impair the ability of a private party to restrict or limit smoking or vaping cannabis on his or her private property.

Is flower currently available?

Yes, some dispensaries were quick to get their flower products ready for patients. If your favorite dispensary does not currently offer flower, be patient, they will most likely be carrying it soon.

SHARE THE KNOWLEDGE

LEAVE A COMMENT

Leave a Comment

Chaya Cain

Cannabis 101: What you Need to Know

To watch what is happening in Tallahassee and across the country on the issue of cannabis, you could almost believe we live in A Tale of Two Cities: “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the

Read More »
Cannabis caution sign
Lisa Colando

Cannabis Edible Guide: Start Low, Go Slow

Quick tips on cannabis-infused edibles Cannabis-infused products, or edibles, are a great alternative to smoking cannabis, and recently have become increasingly more popular among patients. But where do you start? How do you know how much to take? This Cannabis Edible Guide will get you started. Over the years edibles have evolved. Gone are the

Read More »
grandma with thought bubble askingyou want me to try cannabis
Lisa Colando

Cannabis Conversations with Parents

They changed our diapers. They taught us how to walk and talk. They gave us wisdom and support. (And we may have put them through a tough time or two). But now our parents are older and we are seeing that the child becomes the parent and the parent becomes the child. Now, I don’t

Read More »
You must be atleast 21 years of age to visit this site.

A note to our visitors

This website has updated its privacy policy in compliance with changes to European Union data protection law, for all members globally. We’ve also updated our Privacy Policy to give you more information about your rights and responsibilities with respect to your privacy and personal information. Please read this to review the updates about which cookies we use and what information we collect on our site. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our updated privacy policy.

Scroll to Top